University of Canberra
University of Canberra

University of Canberra

University of Canberra

The University of Canberra (UC) is a public research university with its main campus in Bruce, Canberra, Australian Capital Territory. UC offers undergraduate and postgraduate courses covering five faculties: Health, Art and Design, Business, Government and Law, Education, and Science and Technology. UC partners with two local ACT schools: UC Senior Secondary College Lake Ginninderra and University of Canberra High School Cullen. The University of Canberra College offers access to universities for domestic and international students.

University of Canberra location

11 Kirinary St, Bruce ACT 2617, Australia.

When was the University of Canberra founded?

The University of Canberra was first established in 1967 as the Canberra College of Advanced Education. Canberra CAE became the University of Canberra in 1990 under the auspices of Monash University. More than 70,000 students have graduated from the university since 1970.

What is the name of the vice chancellor?

The current Vice-Chancellor of the University since 6 April 2020 is Professor Paddy Nixon, a technologist and computer scientist. The former Vice-Chancellor from 1 September 2016 to 21 December 2019 was Professor Deep Saini, a plant physiologist.

University of Canberra Campus

The university has a campus, located in the suburb of Bruce, which covers 290 acres of buildings, roads, and entrances. There are just over 28 buildings, each dedicated to a particular discipline of education or faculty. Most of these buildings are arranged around the main concourse.

University of Canberra Libraries

The University of Canberra Library is located in Building 8. The building has four floors.


The Refectory is the main food hall located in Building 1, managed by the UC Union. It offers cafes, post offices, general stores, pool tables, and lounges and is also a concert venue. Upstairs are study rooms that students and staff can book. The Hub, located below the main concourse, offers cafes, a hairdressing salon, and a branch of the Commonwealth Bank of Australia. The studios of the University of Canberra’s student radio station 87.8 UCFM are also located in the hub. UC Hub also hosts DJs. A sports and fitness center is located in Building 29 with gym facilities and is home to the Brumbies rugby administration. There are basketball and squash courts nearby in Building 4, and various sporting ovals are available.

Student accommodation

There are three accommodation options for students – Unilodge (consisting of Cooper Lodge, Weeden Lodge and more recently UC Lodge, managed by Unilodge Australia Pty Ltd), Campus West (managed by Unilodge) and University Gardens (located in the neighboring suburb of Belconnen, managed by UniGardens Pty ). All options are provided to all students including international students.

University of Canberra courses

  • Arts and Design

Arts and Design specialize in Architecture, Landscape Architecture, Graphic Design, Communication Studies, Culture and Heritage, Journalism, Creative Writing and Poetry, International Studies, and Media Arts. The Faculty has two schools: the School of Design and Built Environment and the School of Arts and Communication.

  • Business, Government and Law

The Faculty of Business Government and Law offers courses in Accounting, Applied Economics, Business Administration, Business Informatics, Construction, Economics, Finance, Law, Management, Marketing, Politics, Sociology, Public Policy, Tourism, and Urban and Regional Planning.

  • Education

The Faculty of Education offers courses designed to cover all levels of teacher development, including early childhood, primary and secondary courses.

  • Health

The Faculty of Health prepares allied health professionals including nurses, midwives, occupational therapists, optometrists and vision scientists, psychologists, physiotherapists, pharmacists, dieticians, nutritionists, radiologists, speech pathologists, exercise professional scientists, and sports management scientists.

  • Science and Technology

The Faculty of Science and Technology trains students in environmental sciences, biomedical and forensics as well as information technology, information systems, engineering, and mathematics.

UC also offers a range of double degrees combining two degrees from different faculties.

University of Canberra
University of Canberra

University of Canberra ranking

The university was named among the top 20 young universities in the world in the 2020 Times Higher Education (THE) Young University Rankings. The university rose to number 18 from number 34 in the latest THE Best Universities Under 50 list.

Research Center

The university has several research centers related to areas of research strength. These are:

  • Institute of Applied Ecology.
  • Institute for Governance and Policy Analysis.
  • Research Institute for Sports and Exercise.
  • Institute of Health Research.
  • Center for Creative and Cultural Research.
  • Center for News and Media Research.
  • Center for Research and Action in Public Health.
  • Therapeutic Solutions Research Center.
  • Center for STEM Education Research.
  • SYNERGY Nursing and Midwifery Research Center.
  • Nexus Research Center.
  • Canberra Urban and Regional Futures.
  • Collaborative Indigenous Research Initiative.
  • Murray-Darling Basin Futures Collaborative Research Network.
  • Invasive Animal Cooperative Research Center.

Notable people

  • Janine Deakin, geneticist.
  • John Dryzek, a political scientist.
  • Patricia Estill, Professor of Law.
  • Donald Horne, journalist, author, social critic, historian, and public intellectual.
  • Peter Leahy, former Army Chief (Australia).
  • Ingrid Moses, Emeritus Professor, and former Chancellor.
  • Susan Ryan, one-time Labor minister.

Frequently asked questions

[sp_easyaccordion id=”1356″]

See more posts: Harvard University address

About Admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *